008_Nationalpark_Gesäuse_Naturschutz_Ranger©StefanLeitner_NPG
052_Nationalpark_Gesäuse_Naturschutz_Ranger©StefanLeitner_NPG-min
013_Nationalpark_Gesäuse_Naturschutz_Ranger©StefanLeitner_NPG

Management at Gesäuse National Park

Management


073_Nationalpark_Gesäuse_2019©StefanLeitner

success for nature

The Gesäuse National Park is a national park according to IUCN II, i.e. the main task is the free development of nature (wilderness). You can find out here which successes we have already celebrated in nature conservation and beyond.

Discover more

Alpine meadow management

The alpine meadows of Gesäuse National Park are rich in biodiversity. If the grasslands were not used, maintained and managed as alpine pastures, the survival and conservation of these partly endangered habitats and the species living there would be uncertain or impossible. The preservation of natural resources and biodiversity of these areas requires a specific management plan. It includes identifications of site criteria and objects of protection as well as plans of action. Nature conservation and traditional farming are brought together.

_LEI7247 (1)

FURTHER INFORMATIONS

NPG-Alpine meadows - german only

8.7 MB

Visitor Management Plan

Even though nature conservation is our main focus, we are happy to welcome everyone as making the area of Gesäuse National Park accessible for educational as well as recreational purposes is one of our goals. Taking the “Natura 2000” requirements and hazard analyses for protected species into consideration, we designed a plan for visitor management. When exploring the national park please stick to the rules provided in the Fair Play Folders We are looking forward to seeing you!

Erlebnis_Bergbach_c_Nationalpark_Gesaeuse_GmbH_Stefan_Leitner

FURTHER INFORMATIONS

NPG Visitor Management Plan - german only

3.3 MB

bedload management plan

Huge amounts of rubble are part of the characteristic landscape of Gesäuse National Park. They are the result of the weathering of dolomite, the rock that forms the base of the Gesäuse mountains. This debris is transported by rivers and gravel banks are built along their courses, creating habitats for many plants and animals such as the common sandpiper. During floods the rubble carried along in the waters can pose additional danger to roads and railways. The management plan is a concept which was developed to protect the roads and bridges while still allowing natural bedload flow.

Luchs Trail_c-Max Mauthner_Gesaeuse_75

FURTHER INFORMATIONS

NPG Bedload management - german only

15.6 MB

Water management plan

One of the characteristics of Gesäuse National Park is water. The Enns river, sometimes roaring and at other times quietly flowing, the unpredictable Johnsbach creek, the unique Sulzkarsee lake and countless hidden springs are part of the majestic landscape. The water management plan, or limnological concept, deals with the biological and ecological structure and functions of the waters and the accompanying habitats, which are irreplaceable for so many animal and plant species. In order to protect endangered species and to allow the rivers to run freely, measures are proposed in this management plan.

005_Nationalpark_Gesäuse_Naturschutz_Ranger©StefanLeitner_NPG-min

FURTHER INFORMATIONS

NPG Limnological concept I - german only

2.9 MB

NPG Limnological concept II - german only

480.0 KB

Management plan for invasive species

All invasive species introduced directly or indirectly by humans after 1492 (year of the discovery of America) are called "neobiota". While some types are inconspicuous, there are others that disturb the sensitive balance of the native flora and fauna. Many of them even invaded the remote mountain valleys of Gesäuse National Park, covering areas as far as the eye can see. Today, the "problem areas" lie mainly outside the national park boundaries as in many places, people are still watching inactively while glandular balsam, Canadian goldenrod and knotgrass, plants which have successfully been supressed in the national park, multiply en masse. The procedure of repressing invasive species is described in the management plan.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

FURTHER INFORMATIONS

NPG - management for invasive species - german only

5.8 MB

grouse management

The grouse management plan is fundamentally for the protection of grouse in Gesäuse National Park. Capercaillie, black grouse, hazel grouse and ptarmigan are heavily exposed to human activities such as ski touring and hiking. Experts are worried that process protection alone may not be sufficient and consequently several objectives and measures in the areas of "habitat design", "visitor guidance", "wildlife management & regulation", "infrastructure" and "communication" introduced.

Andreas Hollinger-17426_NPG

FURTHER INFORMATIONS

NPG - grouse management - german only

1.7 MB

game management

Traditionally the area of the Steriermärkische Landesforste was used as settlement area, for forestry and as hunting ground. When Gesäuse National Park was founded in 2002, the hunting lease agreements expired and a national park compliant game management plan was needed. The main aim of the nature reserve is to let nature unfold naturally on three quarters of its territory. Hunting activities such as shooting and conservation are to take place on the remaining area. As these sections are also used for alpine farming, siviculture, visitor management and traffic, the regional development planning, which is laid down in this management plan, is particularly important.

Xeis_Matthias_Ledwinka56

FURTHER INFORMATIONS

NPG game management - german only

6.1 MB

Nationalparks Austria game management - german only

1.2 MB

forestry management

Up until the foundation of the Gesäuse National Park in 2002 the forests of the area were managed like every other commercial forest. For forestry, spruce has always been the number one tree species and was promoted on all possible and impossible sites. Many natural wood communities, especially in easily accessible areas such as the Gstatterbodener Kessel and the alluvial forests along the river Enns, had to make way. The natural timber development will certainly produce adapted mixed woodland again at some point. The national park and the Steiermärkische Landesforste are helping to speed up the process for which the forest management plan provides an important point of reference.

036_Nationalpark_Gesäuse_Naturschutz_Ranger©StefanLeitner_NPG-min

FURTHER INFORMATIONS

NPG - forestry management - german only

2.1 MB

Faktenblatt_Waldmanagement - german only

008_Nationalpark_Gesäuse_Naturschutz_Ranger©StefanLeitner_NPG
052_Nationalpark_Gesäuse_Naturschutz_Ranger©StefanLeitner_NPG-min
013_Nationalpark_Gesäuse_Naturschutz_Ranger©StefanLeitner_NPG

Management im Nationalpark Gesäuse.

Management


073_Nationalpark_Gesäuse_2019©StefanLeitner

Erfolge des Nationalpark Gesäuse

Der Nationalpark Gesäuse ist ein Nationalpark nach IUCN II, d.h. Hauptaufgabe ist die freie Entwicklung der Natur (Wildnis). Welche Erfolge wir bereits im Naturschutz und darüber hinaus feiern konnten, erfahren Sie hier.

Mehr erfahren

Alm-management

Die Almen beherbergen im sonst walddominierten Gebiet im Gesäuse besondere Lebensräume. Würde das Grasland nicht als Alm genutzt, gepflegt und bewirtschaftete werden, wäre der Fortbestand und die Erhaltung dieser zum Teil gefährdeten Lebensräume und der darin lebenden Arten ungewiss bzw. unmöglich. Der Managementplan beschreibt die Almen des Nationalparks Gesäuse. Es wurden für jede Alm Standortkriterien und Schutzobjekte festgestellt und alle Schritte die für deren Schutz notwendig sind, beschrieben. Naturschutz und traditionelle Bewirtschaftung werden unter einen Hut gebracht.

_LEI7247 (1)

Mehr Informationen

NPG Almmanagement

8,7 MB

Besuchermanagement

Gäste sind uns im Nationalpark Gesäuse immer willkommen, so ist ein Ziel des Nationalparks, die Erlebbarmachung des Gebietes zum Zweck der Bildung und Erholung. Die Natur soll dabei aber immer im Vordergrund stehen. Unter Berücksichtigung der Vorgaben von „Natura 2000“ und einer Risikoanalyse für die Schutzgüter (z.B. Flussuferläufer oder Auerhühner) haben wir uns die verschiedenen Besucheraktivitäten genauer angeschaut und den Besuchermanagementplan erstellt. Wenn Sie uns besuchen kommen, sind unsere Folder zum richtigen Verhalten in der Natur genau das Richtige. Wir freuen uns auf Sie!

Erlebnis_Bergbach_c_Nationalpark_Gesaeuse_GmbH_Stefan_Leitner

Mehr Informationen

NPG Besuchermanagement

3,3 MB

Geschiebe-management

Wer aufmerksam durch den Nationalpark wandert oder fährt, der übersieht kaum die großen Schuttmengen in fast jedem Graben. Sie entstehen durch die Verwitterung des Dolomits, aus dem der untere Bereich der Gesäuseberge besteht. Wildbäche transportieren dieses Geschiebe immer weiter, auch in Enns und Johnsbach, wo sich wertvolle Inseln und Schotterbänke –Lebensraum für viele Pflanzen und Tiere, zum Beispiel den Flussuferläufer – bilden. Bei Hochwasser kann das Geschiebe aber auch zur Gefahr für Straßen und Eisenbahn werden. Um die Straßen und Brücken zu schützen und dennoch den natürlichen Geschiebefluss zuzulassen, wurde dieses Konzept erarbeitet.

Luchs Trail_c-Max Mauthner_Gesaeuse_75

Mehr Informationen

NPG Geschiebemanagement

15,6 MB

Gewässer-management

Unser Nationalpark ist geprägt von Gewässer. Die mal tosende, mal ruhig dahinfließende Enns, der unberechenbare Johnsbach, der einzigartige Sulzkarsee und die unzähligen verborgenen Quellen. Der Gewässermanagementplan (das limnologische Konzept) befasst sich mit der biologischen und ökologischen Struktur und Funktion der Gewässer und der Begleitlebensräume, die für so viele Tier- und Pflanzenarten unersetzbar sind. Ein Ziel des Nationalparks ist es, dass die Flüsse möglichst frei und dynamisch sein dürfen. Dazu, und auch um bedrohte Arten zu schützen, werden in diesem Managementplan Maßnahmen vorgeschlagen.

005_Nationalpark_Gesäuse_Naturschutz_Ranger©StefanLeitner_NPG-min

Mehr Informationen

NPG Limnologisches Konzept I

2,9 MB

NPG Limnologisches Konzept II

480,0 kB

Neophyten-management

Als „Neobiota“ werden alle nach 1492 (Jahr der Entdeckung Amerikas) direkt oder indirekt durch den Menschen eingeschleppten Arten bezeichnet. Neben unauffälligen Arten gibt es auch invasive Tiere und Pflanzen, die das Gleichgewicht der heimischen Flora und Fauna stören. Viele von ihnen drangen sogar in die abgelegenen Gebirgstäler des Nationalpark Gesäuse vor, bedeckten Flächen soweit das Auge reicht. Heute liegen die „Problemzonen“ vor allem außerhalb der Nationalparkgrenzen. Vielerorts wird noch tatenlos zugesehen, wie sich Drüsiges Springkraut, Kanadische Goldrute und Staudenknöterich massenhaft vermehren. Im Nationalpark Gesäuse konnten diese Pflanzen erfolgreich zurückgedrängt werden. Im Managementplan Neobiota wird die Vorgehensweise beschrieben.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Mehr Informationen

NPG Neophytenmanagement

5,8 MB

Raufußhuhn-management

Der Fachplan Raufußhuhn-Management bietet die Grundlage für den Schutz der Raufußhühner im Nationalpark bis 2031. Auerhuhn, Birkhuhn, Haselhuhn und Schneehuhn sind stark den Belastungen durch die Menschen (Skitouren gehen, wandern usw.) ausgesetzt. Die Sorge, dass der Prozessschutz allein vielleicht nicht ausreichend sein wird, um diese Arten optimal zu schützen, rief die Experten auf den Plan. In den Bereichen „Habitatgestaltung“, „Besucherlenkung“, „Wildtiermanagement & Regulierung“, „Infrastruktur“ und „Kommunikation“ wurden verschiedene Ziele und Maßnahmen für den Lebensraum diskutiert.

Andreas Hollinger-17426_NPG

Mehr Informationen

NPG Raufusshuhnmanagement

1,7 MB

Schalenwild-management

Das Gebiet der Steiermärkischen Landesforste war neben der Besiedlung und forstlichen Nutzung auch traditionelles Jagdgebiet. Mit der Gründung des Nationalpark Gesäuse 2002 liefen die Jagdpachtverträge aus und ein Nationalpark-konformes Schalenwildmanagement wurde gebraucht. Eines der obersten Ziele des Nationalpark Gesäuse ist es, der Natur auf drei Viertel der Fläche freien Lauf zu lassen. Jagdliche Tätigkeiten wie Abschuss, Hege u.ä. müssen auf der restlichen Fläche passieren. Da sich in dieser Restfläche aber auch Almwirtschaft, Waldbau, Besucherlenkung und Verkehr abspielen, ist die jagdliche und wildökologische Raumplanung, die in diesem Managementplan festgelegt wurde, besonders wichtig.

Xeis_Matthias_Ledwinka56

Mehr Informationen

NPG Wildmanagement

6,1 MB

NP Austria Schalenwild

1,2 MB

Wald-management

Ein Teil der Wälder, die heute im Nationalpark liegen, wurde früher wie ein ganz normaler Wirtschaftswald bewirtschaftet. Für die Forstwirtschaft war immer die Fichte die Baumart Nummer eins und wurde auf allen möglichen und unmöglichen Standorten gefördert. Viele natürliche Waldgesellschaften, besonders in leicht zugänglichen Gebieten, wie z.B. dem Gstatterbodener Kessel und den Auwäldern an der Enns mussten weichen. Die natürliche Waldentwicklung wird sicher irgendwann wieder einen angepassten Mischwald hervorbringen. Um diesen Prozess etwas zu beschleunigen, helfen Nationalpark Gesäuse und Steiermärkische Landesforste ein bisschen nach. Der Managementplan Wald liefert dabei einen wichtigen Anhaltspunkt.

036_Nationalpark_Gesäuse_Naturschutz_Ranger©StefanLeitner_NPG-min

Mehr Informationen

NPG Waldmanagement

2,1 MB

Faktenblatt_Waldmanagement